Archives for the Month: March 2016



The accreditation team of ICAN visited Benson Idahosa University recently on a reaccreditation visit to the Department of Accounting under the Faculty of Social and Management Sciences (FSMS).

Read More

  1. Prof Bamidele Sanni, the Dean of the School of Postgraduate Studies, Benson Idahosa University has been elected the Chairman of the Committee of Deans of Post graduate Schools in Nigeria (CDPGS). This honour was conferred on him at the 50th Meeting of the Committee held on the 25th to 27th of January, 2016. Prof Sanni is a renowned Professor of Chemistry, who has taught and mentored a number of Students at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels of education. It is noteworthy that it is a novel feat in the history of CDPGS, to elect a Chairman from a private University. This indeed is a remarkable achievement for Benson Idahosa University.
  2. The Director of Sports Benson Idahosa University, Mrs. Eunice Adebayo-James, has been elected the Secretary General of the Nigeria Private Universities Games Association (NPUGA). This was communicated to the Vice Chancellor in February 2016. She is by this election to serve the association for the next 4 years.
  3. The University Management led by the Vice Chancellor, Prof Ernest B. Izevbigie, FNAI, recently hosted the Public Affairs Officer, United States Consulate General, Dehab Ghebreab and her team members. She was on a visit to sensitize the university on the need to be catalogued in the Fulbright Scholarship programme. The Fulbright Scholarship programme is present in 155 Countries in the world including Nigeria, and the enrolment of the University will entitle Student Scholars to study in the United States as well as allow the university stand the chance of having US Scholars as members of staff for a specified period of time. She however stated that the process of being catalogued as a member of the programme takes time, and as such, the university will be included in 2017 when it has supplied the Consulate with the needed information.
  4. The President of Benson Idahosa University, Bishop F.E.B Idahosa University on Wednesday 17th of February, 2016, inaugurated the members of the Governing, Management, and Academic Board of the School of Basic and Applied Sciences (SBAS). He charged them to expand the reach of education, stressing on the need to be innovative and upholding the vision, mission, and core purpose of the school. He thereafter prayed for every member of the various Boards, for the strength to serve meritoriously. Members of the Governing Board are Prof G.L Igeleke (Chairman ), Dr. Alexandra Esimaje (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Michael Oisamoje , Dr. Peter Ekunwe, and Mr. Enoma Aruevbose (Secretary to the Board).
    The members of the Management Board are Dr. Peter Ekunwe (Rector), Mrs. Georgina Asemota (Deputy Rector), Dr. Mark Ighile , Dr. Stephen Enabulele (SIWES), Mr. Enoma Aruevbose (Registrar), Mrs. Gloria Otoide (Librarian), and Mrs. Maureen Chukwu( Chief Accountant).
  5. The proposal put forward by the Faculty of Law of this university for the acquisition of Master of Laws Degree programme at the Post Graduate School is currently at an advanced stage of approval.

Benson Idahosa University (BIU) School of Post-Graduate Studies has successfully graduated the first Student in the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programme. He is Dr. Leonard Nosa Aisien.

Read More

The Chancellor of Benson Idahosa University, Archbishop Margaret E Benson-Idahosa, JP, OON, on Saturday March 12th, 2016, laid the foundation stone for the construction of the Faculty of Engineering at a ground breaking ceremony held at the University’s Okha Campus.

Read More


A United Nations backed committee in 2009, predicted an impending food crises in Africa by the year 2020.In lieu of this, Benson Idahosa University gathered global icons under the THINKERS’ NEST Forum to proffer possible ways to avert this impending epidemic.

Read More

  1. Faculty of Social and Management Science ( FSMS):
    • Professor Andrew Ojei has been reappointed as the H.O.D of Sociology and Anthropology in replacement of the late Mr. Christopher Osawe who passed away in October, 2015.
    • John Ohiorenoya, the former H.O.D, Business Administration, has resumed from sabbatical leave and has since been reappointed as the H.O.D, Business Administration.
    • Ewere Okungbowa, an Assistant Lecturer with the Department of Economics, Banking, and Finance, won a PhD research grant of the African Economics Research Consortium (AFRC), based in Kenya. The consortium awards 21 grants to students in Africa annually.


  1. Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (FAAT)

The Faculty has a new Dean in the person of Prof Williams A. Molindo. He took over from Prof Sylvester Orewa.



  1. Faculty of Arts and Education (FAE)

The Faculty has a new Acting Dean, in the person of Dr. Innocent Umejesi. He took over office from Prof. Sarah A. Shokpeka


  1. Works Department:

Engr. Awaritoma H. Oghenovo, recently got an award “D’LINGA 2015 Award”. It is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the growth and development of the Engineering profession and community development. The D’LINGA Award is a corporate initiative designed to promote industry, excellence, and integrity in the Public, and private sectors of the Nigerian economy. It is an annual award organized by Corporate and Media Africa Communications Limited.


The following members of staff were recently promoted or appointed by the University Governing Council.

They are:

  1. Friday O. Eboreime ( Professor)
  2. BramwellAmadasun (Professor)
  3. McDonald Uwaifo ( Deputy Registrar)
  4. Vinton Okoedo- Itoya ( Principal Assistant Registrar)
  5. Maureen Chukwu ( Chief Accountant)
  6. Mrs. Oyoma Omoefe (Higher Library Officer)