University Governing Council


The Law Establishing Benson Idahosa University states that the Governing Council shall be the governing authority of the University and shall have the custody, control and disposition of all the property and finances of the University and except as may be otherwise provided in the law, shall manage and superintend generally the affairs of the University and in any matter concerning the University not provided for by or under the Law, Council may act in such a manner as appear to its best calculated to promote the interests, objects and purpose of the University.

The Governing Council of Benson Idahosa University operates the following Statutory Committees such as:

  1. Finance and General Purposes Committee (F&GPC)
  2. Tenders Board
  3. Senior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee
  4. Junior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee
  5. Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee
  6. Junior Staff Disciplinary Committee
  7. Fund Raising Committee
  8. Search Committee

The Governing Council of Benson Idahosa University is also represented in some ad hoc Committees which have members representing other constituencies within the University, viz;

  1. Honorary Degree Awards Committee
  2. Academic Complaints Disciplinary Committee
  3. Strategic Planning Committee
  4. Development and Physical Planning Committee

Since the Governing Council is charged with the general control and superintendence of the University, it implies that it has to work in harmony with the University Management.

Apart from relating with Management, the Governing Council of Benson Idahosa relates its activities to the social, cultural and economic needs of its communities and the improvement of excellent working relationship with all stakeholders within the University especially the Academic, non-Teaching and the Resident Advisors.

The present Governing Council is made up of twelve (12) members and is chaired by Engr. (Dr.) G.O. Isibor, ably supported by Rev. M.J. Okagbare as the Secretary. The Desk Officer of Council is Mr. G.F. Orhewere.


Engr. G. O. Isibor Chairman
Prof. J.A. Okhuoya Vice President/Member
Prof. Ernest Izevbigie Vice Chancellor/Member
Rt. Rev. Samuel A. Imoukhuede External Member
Engr. Emmanuel Egbagbe External Member
Rt. Rev. Festus Akhimien External Member
Mrs. Evon Howard External Member
Prof. Macdonald Idu External Member
Pharm. M. A. Audu Member (Representing NUC)
Prof. Sam Guobadia Member (Representing Senate)
Prof. (Mrs.)  C. L. Igeleke Member (Representing Senate)
M.J. Okagbare Registrar/Secretary to Council