Benson Idahosa University Rewards Long Service

February 16, 2015

One of the things which makes an organization legendary and people friendly is the need to recognize and reward those who have contributed immensely to the development of the organization.

In line with this, Benson Idahosa University recently rolled out a red- carpet ceremony for some of its staff members who have worked for 15years and above, contributing to the growth and development of the Institution.

Speaking at the occasion, the President of Benson Idahosa University, Bishop FEB Idahosa, said that the occasion was one of the ways Management could say ‘thank you’ to both the teaching and non-teaching staff for their long term service to the Institution.

While congratulating the awardees, the President stressed the need for other staff members to be committed, dedicated, and work towards the actualization of the Vision of the University, noting that efforts are on top gear to see to the establishment of the Faculty of Engineering at the University’s Okha Campus by 2015. He however said that work at the Okha Campus is already ongoing, as he admonished the awardees not to rest on their oars. According to President FEB, Management will continue to do all it takes to reward its staff for their commitment, dedication and hard work towards the actualization of the Vision, Mission and Core Purpose of the Institution.

Speaking on behalf of the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ernest Izevbigie, the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. Sam Guobadia, while congratulating the awardees, said “the Long Service Award” is a way of Management translating one of its Core Values, ‘People matter’ into reality, adding that at Benson Idahosa University, people really do matter; not withstanding whatever position.  According to him, everyone is important to the collective goal and vision of Benson Idahosa University. Prof. Izevbigie therefore urged the recipients of the President’s Long Service Award to reciprocate Management’s kind gesture by way of increasing their productivity and service delivery.

On his part, the Acting Registrar, Rev. Mike Okagbare said, the 2015 Long Service Award is the second in the series. According to him, the award goes to both the teaching and the non-teaching staff members, while reeling the names of the awardees.

High point of the occasion was the award of Hundred Thousand Naira (N100,000) to each of the beneficiaries. A total of 21 staff members amongst whom are; Mrs. Comfort Agu, Mr. Anthony Asogwa, Mrs. B.N.Hepzibah, Mr. Timothy Diagi, Mr. J.O.Ogbeide, Mr. MacDonald Uwaifo, Mr. Obozegie Aigere, Mr. Anthony A.Okojie, Mrs. Maria Oyedeji and Mr. Philip Aire. Others are; Mrs. Philomina Njoku, Mr. Anthony Onwunkanjor, Dr. W.A.Oduh, Mr. M.U.Agbonkpolor, Prof. J.O.Oyedeji, Mrs. Sarah Ekeikhomhen, Mrs. Joyce Idehen, Mrs. A.A.Obiefuna, Mr. G.E.Okwezuzu, Mr. Felix Usiomwanta and Mrs. O.T.Okugbo, were beneficiaries of the 2015 President’s Long Service Award.

The President also used the occasion to commend the University’s outgoing Registrar, T.M.E Dogun II, whom he described as a selfless, dedicated and a true friend of the University.

Expressing his appreciation on behalf of the awardees, Prof. J.O. Oyedeji thanked the University Management for the honour bestowed on them. The former Acting Vice Chancellor of the University and Lecturer in the Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology pledged their unflinching commitment and resolve towards the growth and development of the University.  Prof. Oyedeji prayed God to bless the Management of Benson dahosa University, staff and students, adding that the plan of God for Benson Idahosa University will surely be fulfilled.

The occasion was later followed by a sendforth luncheon in honour of the outgoing Registrar, T.M.E. Dogun II.